Holy Synod


The Episcopal Synod with the Catholicos as its president is the apex body of all bishops. The authority of the synod is final and binding. It has exclusive rights and privileges in the matter of upholding the faith of the church, its discipline and order of Apostolic Succession. As regards temporal matters the church is guided by the Malankara Syrian Christian Association.

The bishops rule the diocese assigned to them by the synod




Catholicos and Malankara Metropolitan

H.H. Baselius Mar Thoma Paulose I
H.H. Baselius Mar Thoma Didymus I ( Valiya Bava )

* H.G. Zachariah Mar Nicholovos (North East America)
* H.G. Thomas Mar Athanasios (Chengannur)
* H.G. Dr. Thomas Mar Athanasius (Kandanad East)
* H.G. Yuhanon Mor Meletius (Thrissur)
* H.G. Kuriakose Mar Clemis (Thumpamon)
* H.G. Zachariah Mar Anthonios (Kollam)
* H.G. Dr. Mathews Mar Severius (Kandanad West) Secretary of the H.Episcopal Synod
* H.G. His Grace Dr. Yuhanon Mar Dimitrios (Delhi)
* H.G. Geevarghese Mar Coorilos (Mumbai)
* H.G. Dr. Yakoob Mar Irenius (Kochi)
* H.G. Dr. Gabriel Mar Gregorios (Tiruvananthapuram)
* H.G. Dr. Zachariah Mar Theophilus (Malabar)
* H.G. Dr. Yuhanon Mar Chrisostomos (Niranam)
* H.G. Yuhanon Mar Polycarpos (Ankamali)
* H.G. Mathews Mar Theodosius (Idukki)
* H.G. Joseph Mar Dionysius (Calcutta)
* H.G. Abraham Mar Epiphanios (Sulthan Battery)
* H.G. Dr. Mathews Mar Timotheos (UK-Europe-Africa)
* H.G. Alexios Mar Eusebius (South-West America)
* H.G. Dr. Yuhanon Mar Dioscorus ( Chennai )
* H.G. Dr. Geevarghese Mar Yulios (Ahmedabad )
* H.G. Dr. Abraham Mar Seraphim ( Bangalore)
* H.G. Dr. Joshua Mar Nicodimos (Nilackal Diocese)
* H.G. Yakoob Mar Elias Metropolitan ( Brahmavar)
* H.G. Dr. Zacharias Mar Aprem Metropolitan ( Adoor –Kadampanadu)
* H.G. Yuhanon Mar Theodorus Metropolitan ( Kottarakkara –Punalur )
* H.G. Dr. Youhanon Mar Dioscoros (Chennai)



Malankara Orthodox Syrian Church,Diocese of South-West America, 3101 Hopkins Rd Beasley, TX 77417 Ph: 281.403.0670 · Fax: 281-459-0814

Copyright © 2009 Diocese of South-West America. All Rights Reserved.